Artist Research: Shahzia Sikander

be998dc7-1a3d-4d20-b405-a5f35a7b730c

Nora recommended I look at Shahzia Sikander’s work class a couple of weeks ago and she has quickly evolved into my new artist crush. Her work was born out of the practice of Persian miniature paintings and now encompasses narrative paintings and animations as well as adroit, penetrating concepts.

7082_6-shahzia_sikander_8759_SinxayRiding

I enjoy that Sikander works from personal experience drawing on her Pakistani roots to create stunning pieces. She incorporates Arabic into her work as she recounts her early memories of trying to read the Qur’an only to be distracted by the physical beauty of the letters when detached from their meaning. Also in these paintings, Sikander uses such strong, enticing colors. It reminds me of when Carolyn Case was describing what she learned to be the difference between “English colors” and the palette of India. I think because I am used to viewing Western art, I am so ecstatic to see rich, clear hues instead of muddied midtones blending to create form. In Sikander’s work she harnesses the cultural tradition of Indian and Persian art and utilizes graphic or flattened quality. I believe this is also a reason why composition and design principles become such a prominent component in her art.

Image CooperHewitt2

Another reason I was drawn to Sikander’s work is because she uses diptychs. SInce I have been working with diptychs in my own work, I really want to research why Sikander uses the convention. Her diptychs are much larger, much bolder, and more evenly balanced. If I continue to use this method, I want to reference Indian illuminated manuscripts as Sikander references Islamic illumination. Check out this 11th century traditional Tibetan page from the Perfection of Wisdom sutra:

07

Back to Shahzia Sikander! She is a great example of an artist who has found the balance between visually rich imagery and well-researched, deeply considered concepts. As a matter of fact she is the first Pakistani Academician in the National Academy. Her website has a long list of solo and group exhibitions as well as awards she has achieved. Her work is collected in Museums such as the Modern Museum of Art, the Hirshhorn Museum & Sculpture Park, the Guggenheim, and internationally at institutions such as the Devi Art Foundation. She is captured by transformation in her work and advises artists to open themselves to transformation whether it is in medium or environment. She herself has worked with painting, animation, video, and murals and has traveled from Pakistan, to the United States, Turkey, and other international destinations.

Spinn2 Nemesis

These are two excerpts from her animations in which she includes symbols from China, India, and England as she explores the East India Trading Company and the hold of Imperialism. This historical topic is just one example of Sikander’s exploration of cultural and political boundaries. She says that her animations do not have a linear narrative, but are a collection of imagery born from the topic.

PerilousOrder Venice

51Ways

I cannot wait to continue research on this wonderful artist! Here is a link to her website and some more fun material about the artist!

Shahzia Sikander

“For me, drawing is a way of navigating the imagination, and it remains the fundamental vehicle of my practice. Drawing allows me to be at my most inventive.”

Leave a comment